Lock that date in

Moama, Sunday 15th May 2016. My first race goal for the year.

Last year i entered this race, my first ever mountain bike race. A massive learning curve, a great sense of achievement, and very sore logs for the next 2 days.  I loved it, it hooked me in, and made me want to get fitter and faster.

The course is set at the 5 mile MTB park in Moama, NSW – on the banks of the mighty Murray River.  The course sort of suits me, lots of peddling and not much climbing (some would call it flat -but i am fat so getting up the river banks was sometimes a struggle towards the end) As the name suggests the course is 5 miles long, which equates to around 7.5 km roughly.

Last years goals were simple. Finish the race DONE, and don’t get lapped on the first lap DONE.  I Also wanted to complete 6 laps in the 3 hours.  I managed 7 laps.. DONEechuca2

The end result was 32nd overall out of 42 starters. I was happy and cant wait to get back.

Last year i completed the race on my Scott Scale Hard tail..  and felt every bump.  This year i will be taking my new steed, the duel suspension Trek EX9.. hopefully the soft ride will make the last hour of racing more pleasant.

Also this year will be a bit different. We are going all out!  The whole support team is coming along (Wife and Daughter) who will be set up inside our own personal team gazebo.

They will be armed with lots of water and food to replenish my dwindling energy as the race laps tick over.

Last year i was so Jealous of those who had this set up, as each lap i wrestled with ever lowering water and energy supplies.. Yes i had spare food, but stopping each lap to get food from my pack made it harder each time to remount the bike and continue.  Also nothing beats getting a cheer each lap from your greatest supporters!

Big thank you to the people last year; who did not know me, but cheered me -every time i went thought the race village.  Also thanks to the lovely wife of a competitor which handed me a much needed can of coke to start the last lap.

So this year will be different..  I have done it before, and know what i struggled with, and what i need to do better.  I have had more time on the bike in summer, and training towards the event.  I’m still fat- but trying to fix that, my skills are bit better and i have a much better endurance base than last year.

Even though i am off the bike just now with dreaded MAN FLU, i will be back spinning the pedals soon and now the date is set, its only 75 days to race day – so we can now focus on what needs to be done to achieve the yet to be set goals for this years race.

In the next few posts i will outline my goals and how i intend to prepare for my first race goal for the season.  Now i just need to get rid of this flu.

 

 

Leave a Reply

